Beethoven on Board - Sonata No. 4 in E-Flat Major


Beethoven’s Sonata No.4 in E-flat major builds on the expansive elements displayed in the previous three, particularly in the first movement, and shows a greater maturity despite only being composed a few years later. Sandwiched between two sets of three works – Op. 2 and Op. 10 – it certainly stands on its own and is the longest sonata of the entire cycle, bar perhaps the Hammerklavier.

Much like the earlier works, this masterpiece is again not often included in concert programmes. With four wildly contrasting movements, we witness Beethoven from a slightly different angle, a further glimpse into his depth of musical genius: grandeur but also with calmness, gracefulness and charm. With each movement filled with such unique characters, there is much to investigate and admire in this lesser-known work.


  1. Allegro molto e con brio
  2. Largo, con gran espressione
  3. Allegro & Minore
  4. Rondo: Poco allegretto e grazioso

Resources & links

  • Click here to view open domain editions for this work (external link).
  • Click here to find out more about our Beethoven on Board series and to view an index of available works.
  • Click here to find out more about The Piano Boat which offers exclusive and intimate recitals in a specially designed floating concert venue!

Subscribe for full access!

Get full access to this content in addition to our growing library of over 1000 articles, videos and other resources for as little as £13.99 per month or £119.99 a year. Click here to sign-up or click here to find-out more (click here to sign-in to view this page if you are already a subscriber).