Grade 6

Kuhlau - Allegro (1st mvt from Sonatina in C, Op. 20 No. 1)

Friedrich Kuhlau’s sonatinas are beautiful examples of sonata form in miniature, ideal vehicles for the study of sonatas by the Classical masters. The structure is crystal clear in this Allegro; we find a satisfying mix of cantabile melodies (accompanied by Alberti basses), brilliant passages in fast scales, and dramatic moments that feature left hand octaves (it is perfectly fine to add touches of pedal here).

Loading video...

Preview (please log-in or subscribe to see full video)

Resources & links

  • This piece is available for digital download individually from the ABRSM shop here or in print as part of the Piano Exam Pieces 2023 & 2024 Grade 6 publication here.
  • Click here to view open domain editions for this work.

Sign in or purchase to view.

£40.00Buy More info