Grade 6

Prokofiev - Cortège de sauterelles (No. 7 from Musiques d’enfants, Op. 65)

Prokoviev’s Musique d’enfants is a collection of 12 short character pieces suitable for the intermediate pianist, for adults as well as children. There is much humour in Cortège de sauterelles ("Procession of Grasshoppers"), with lively springing movements to be found throughout. At the start of the slower middle section it seems the creatures are calming down for the night, but in the second statement of the central theme the left hand begins to jump again, albeit more slowly.

Loading video...

Preview (please log-in or subscribe to see full video)

Resources & links

  • This piece is available as part of the Piano Exam Pieces 2023 & 2024 Grade 6 publication here.
  • Click here to view open domain editions for this work.

Sign in or purchase to view.

£40.00Buy More info