Grade 7

Kuhlau - Allegro con spirito (1st movt from Sonatina in A, Op. 60 No. 2)

Friedrich Kuhlau was a Danish pianist and composer active during the late Classical and early Romantic periods who became a friend of Beethoven. His Allegro con spirito from the Sonatina in A, op. 60 no. 2 is excellent preparation for the larger-scale sonatas the pianist will encounter along their journey to the advanced levels. This movement opens starkly in unisons, establishing the serious, sombre character that prevails throughout. After the customary modulation to the dominant key for the second subject, we find a lamenting melody in C sharp minor, rather than the expected E major. The dominant key is finally established, bringing some warmth and brilliance, before the development section returns to the pathos of the second theme.

Loading video...

Preview (please log-in or subscribe to see full video)

Resources & links

  • This piece is available in print as part of the Piano Exam Pieces 2023 & 2024 Grade 7 publication here.
  • Click here to view open domain editions for this work.

Sign in or purchase to view.

£40.00Buy More info