Grade 5

Cimarosa - Allegro (3rd movt from Sonata in C minor, C.68)

Famous for his comic operas, Domenico Cimarosa wrote more than 80 keyboard sonatas. This Allegro is the final movement of his Sonata in C minor, C. 68. We find fast spinning patterns in almost every bar, often featuring right hand repeated notes that add to the piece’s challenges. Along with much music from the period, there are no dynamic or articulation markings in the original manuscript. To bring the music to life on the piano, we need to find as much colour as possible - using dynamic contrasts and varying our touch. Key colour is an important consideration here, with minor key passages offering an opportunity for more expressive playing.

Loading video...

Preview (please log-in or subscribe to see full video)

Resources & links

  • This piece is available for digital download individually from the ABRSM shop here or in print as part of the Piano Exam Pieces 2023 & 2024 Grade 5 publication here.
  • Click here to view open domain editions for this work.

Sign in or purchase to view.

£40.00Buy More info